Holding Myself Accountable

There’s a great podcast called “After Sectionals” for band peeps (and band peeps, I’m mostly sure you’ve heard of it) and one of the overriding themes of the program is accountability.  

It’s not mean to hold kids accountable.  In fact, it actually kind of means you give a crap.

But it is a challenge to communicate that to students in a way that they understand that it means you care.  And frankly, I think that summarizes the difficulties of teaching in a nutshell.  A very compacted nutshell.

Anyway, I’m an adult, so I should be able to hold myself similarly accountable – doing my job and taking care of myself at the same time.  So, I have not one but two planners: a personal one, and a lesson planner.

The personal planner is basically, “this is where you need to be, when you’re going to work out, what you need to bring, and what you’re eating.”  Last week’s was messy to the point of illegible, but if I think of it, I’ll post again as I update for the week, with daily lists and tasks added.

Yes, I have to bring a bass clarinet to school tomorrow.  

Lunches aren’t all filled in yet because I don’t fully know what will be left over from dinner, and I have some reasonable frozen lunches available in case there aren’t leftovers.  I’m not opposed to leftovers, but they tend to stack up around here (plus making an infinite amount of food doesn’t always work with macro counting) and I am determined to throw away less food.

This has worked super well since summer band has started, so I’m going to continue to push myself to maintain during the year.

Two weeks left on my first round of Stronger U, incidentally.  I am down 11 pounds and think the middle digit on the scale will change again prior to wrapping up.  And I’ve eaten stuff like this the whole time:


Of course, ingredients are carefully measured and weighed, but you can plan delicious macro-friendly food with practice and thought.  But yeah, I eat pasta, always and forever.

Happy Sunday, friends!  Relax a little and be a little productive, too!

Leave a Reply

