A pain in the hip

I thought for sure I would get 165 for my 5 rep back squat this morning.

I got 165 for 1.  Well, 1.5…is that a thing?  My legs just weren’t having it – well, more specifically, my freaking hip.  This hip gets out of whack after a lot of time on my feet.  (Right…just got back from vacation.)  Yesterday was also a low-carb day…one in which I actually stuck to my goals.  So less-fueled MAY have something to do with it, but ehhhh…

The big thing is that I just haven’t squatted a whole lot recently.  I can’t expect a magic PR if I haven’t been working.  All things considered, I did pretty well on our trip (and I am remarkably thankful that I didn’t come back bloated for days and days), but even in the weeks/months leading up to today…not a bunch of squats happening.

The latest book I’ve been reading has been “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F—,” and it’s great, assuming you aren’t offended by profanity.  **No, really, if profanity offends you, don’t even touch this book.  Your hands may catch on fire.** One of the big premises of the book is that even if a situation isn’t your fault, it is your responsibility.  As in, how you deal with it from this moment forward is your problem, not anyone else’s.  This is a relatively easy thing to accept for a back squat (for me at least), but may be harder to accept for your personal life, your job, your finances…talk about a tough pill to swallow.  Yep.

Good thing: the scale is starting to move in the right direction again, even if it is slow.  Always worth reminding yourself that the long haul is more important than the short term.  

Happy Monday, and almost 4th of July, y’all!  Here’s a doggie picture for fun – our new foster, Bruce, who will soon be available through Houston Boxer Rescue.

Leave a Reply

